Posted by: Steven Harris | May 9, 2007

Techno Update

Samsung Q1 Infinite!Lots of fun things to write about since last fall…like all the cool gadgets I’ve been using. Just last week I bought a Samsung Q1 ultra-mobile PC. It’s very handy for that ubiquitous computing, when you don’t want to lug around a laptop.

I like the Q1 as a mobile way to do computing, moreso than a PDA, for example. It has a fully-blown operating system (Windows XP–also available with Vista). You can write on the screen using a stylus. It plays media files of all kinds. Handy for sitting around in the coffee shop, reading email, browsing the web, listening to music. You can also form a Bluetooth relationship with a phone and send and receive audio from the phone through the Q1.

Drawbacks: it is a little cumbersome to enter large amounts of text with the stylus. The screen size makes some webpages difficult to navigate. Otherwise, I love it. I’ve only begun to think of the things it will help me do.

The Q1 is my personal gadget. I also purchased for the library a Sony ebook reader. More about that later.

Responses

  1. […] the Chronicle of Higher Education. I should mention that I was reading on my previously mentioned Samsung Q1. I was finding the page layout of the Chronicle not working well with the Q1. The column width was […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

